2013 Championship Boerewors winner crowned

SUN CITY – After five nerve-wracking months of mincing, spicing and braaing, the coveted title of Boerewors Champion was awarded with great fanfare at the exhilarating grand finale at Sun City’s Valley of Waves, on Saturday 5 October.

Ten boerewors experts battled it out in the blistering heat, with their special boerewors sizzling over perfectly prepared fires, the supportive cheers of enthralled crowds urging them on, anxious to find out who will wear the boerewors crown.

First time entrant, Bob Makheta (37) from Durban drove away with a brand new Toyota Hilux 2.7 Double Cab Raised Body Raider and the much sought after 2013 Boerewors crown. He also received a R2500 holiday voucher from All Gold, a R2000 Coca-Cola cash prize and R750 worth of Simba vouchers.

This truly South African event is presented by Shoprite and Checkers annually to provide all aspiring boerewors makers to show their flair for producing the tastiest traditional boerewors in the country. This national competition, now in its twenty-first year, also helps the supermarket group to find a traditional boerewors recipe that will appeal to ever changing tastes of the majority of consumers in the country, and enables Shoprite Checkers to produce a quality product that reflects the value on offer in the Meat Market departments of all its supermarkets and hyper stores.

Bob is a Senior Meat Technician at Shoprite Chatsworth in KwaZulu-Natal and entered the competition as he wanted to test himself and his ability to make boerewors.  He set out to find the perfectly balanced boerewors and winning proves that he did.

The runner-up and second runner-up also did not leave empty handed. Second place was awarded to Arend Esterhuizen from Vereeniging (Gauteng) who won a R10 000 holiday voucher from All Gold, a R5000 Coca-Cola cash prize and R1500 worth of Siba vouchers. Derrick Khumalo from Katlehong (Gauteng) took third place and received a R5000 holiday voucher from All Gold, a R3000 Coca-Cola cash prize and R1000 worth of Simba vouchers.

This year the Championship Boerewors competition proved to be as popular as ever and with over 1000 entries received it took 88 regional and 10 provincial rounds, during which 400 judges had to taste and assess 51 000 pieces of raw and cooked boerewors, to eventually find only the ten best who would take on the final battle in Sun City.

An independent judging panel comprising of top food experts Martin Kobald, Carmen Niehaus, Arnold Tanzer, Francois Ferreira, and Lungile Nhlanhla had the daunting task of selecting this year’s number one boerewors. They all agreed that singling out one winner was an extremely challenging task this year due to the unique and outstanding qualities of each of the finalists’ entries. Entries were initially judged in raw form, followed by a braai-off during which contestants had to prepare their own boerewors to the best of their abilities.

The other se seven finalists who competed for the title and the grand prize were: Olivier Kritzinger from Joubertina, Henna Pick from Worcester, Johan De Villiers from Kathu, Sakkie Schutte from Welkom, Jordan Nkadimeng from Lephalale, Theresa Nell from Reyno Ridge and Eddie Hawkes from Vryburg.

Actresses Brümilda van Rensburg and Shaleen Surtie-Richards were the comperes for the day and entertained the crowds on the beach. They were joined on stage by some of South Africa’s most talented entertainers, including Sorina (“the Flooze”), Dewald Louw, Gerhard Steyn, Andriette Norman, Emo Adams, Manie Jackson and SK Sekoati.

The 2013 Shoprite Checkers Championship Boerewors will receive the South African Chefs Association’s Seal of Approval, guaranteeing that the ingredients for South Africa’s best loved boerewors are of the highest quality.

The country’s many loyal boerewors lovers can meanwhile start preparing for yet another taste sensation, because the 2013 Championship Boerewors, produced according to the winning boerewors recipe will hit the shelves of Checkers, Checkers Hyper and Shoprite stores countrywide, on 11 October.

For more information on winners, prizes and competition events visit the Championship Boerewors web site: www.championshipboerewors.co.za.

41-Shoprite wenners

Derrick Khumalo from Katlehong (Gauteng) took third place, Bob Makheta (winner) and Arend Esterhuizen from Vereeniging (Gauteng) took second place.