TBZ Municipality champions of Soccer League

TBZ Municipality Football Club, the champions of the Thaba Spar Football League.

THABAZIMBI – The Thaba Spar Football league champions, Thabazimbi Municipality FC raised the Thaba Super Spar Cup 2011 trophy after beating Shoprite FC by three goals to one in the final game that was played on Saturday 20 August at Thaba Park.

It was a thrilling encounter with Shoprite pushing hard forward and getting a goal in the early minutes of the game. Before half time TBZ
Municipality came back with a bang and scored two goals. They wrapped up the game in the second half when they created a lot of chances and scored their third goal.

It started with the first semi final at 14:00 on the same day between TBZ Municipality FC and Spar FC, where Spar was walloped by two goals to zero at the same venue. The second semi final was a very exciting game between Shoprite FC and Marakele FC where we saw a one all draw. The game was then decided by penalty shoot outs with Shoprite goal keeper making two superb saves and Marakele goal stopper managed to take only one and it was four – three to Shoprite getting a chance to join TBZ Municipality in the finals.

The Sponsor’s representative, Mr Isaac Chake congratulated the two coaches before the final and wished them luck for the game. He also
asked them about their game plan and both of them indicated that they told the players to play their normal game. The champions took away home, the floating trophy, Gold medal and R1 500 prize money while the runners up got the silver medals and R750 prize money.

Handing over of medals and the trophy to the teams was done by Mr Philimon Kwenane from Thaba Super Spar and Cllr John Michael Fischer. Cllr Fischer is the Ward 10 councillor, Thabazimbi Exco member as well the National Chairperson of SAMSRA (South African Municipal Sports and Recreation Association).

He thanked everyone for participating in the competition as well as in the League to make sure that sports is kept alive in the workplace. Mr Ofentse Ngwako, the chairperson of the Spar Football League and the Deputy Chairperson, Fire Molemane thanked the Sponsor and everyone who took part in making sure that the competition is a success.

Photo’s and article by Ofentse Ngwako, Spar Football League Chairperson.